Local Produce Procurement

Local procurement of fresh fruits and vegetables is an important part of successful farm to school programs. The list below is available to assist in sourcing local produce in season.

Visit the National Food Service Management Institute’s “Culinary Techniques for Healthy School Meals-Preparing Vegetables” link for helpful hints on how to prepare and cook fresh produce.

Aggregators and Farmer Cooperatives
Sunny Valley International
P: Bob von Rohr (856) 881-7232
E: info@sunnyint.com
http://www.sunnyint.com
Tri-County Cooperative Auction Market 
P: Bill Dea,  (609) 448-0193
E: bill@tricountycoop.net
http://www.tricountycoop.net

 

Distributors That Source Local
Ambrogi Produce
P: Larry Tambone, (856) 845-0377
E: ltambone@ambrogifoods.com
http://www.ambrogifoods.com
Common Market Philadelphia 
P: Molly Johnston-Heck, 215-275-3435 ext 9
E:  molly@commonmarketphila.org
http://www.commonmarketphila.org
Guarino Sons Produce
    P: Brian Guarino, 609-820-3062
    E: brianguarino@guarinosproduce.com
    http://guarinosproduce.com/
Pocono Produce
   P: Steve Escobedo, 570 656-4246        
   E: smescobedo@poconoproduce.com
   http://www.poconoproduce.com
Riviera Produce 
P: Jeff Kopf (201) 227-7131
http://www.rivieraproduce.com
Seashore Fruit & Produce Co.
P: Chad Yagodich (800) 727-4673
E: chady@seashoreeast.com
http://www.seashoreeast.com
Tramontano Produce
   P: John Tramontano, 908-753-4944
   E: Info@tramontanoproduce.com
   http://www.tramontanoproduce.com
Zone 7
P: Mikey Azzara, (908) 824-7195
E: freshfromzone7@gmail.com
http://www.freshfromzone7.com/index.html


Haulers

Paul’s Commodity Hauling, Inc., Mullica Hill
P: (856) 467-0165
 

Fresh Fruit and Veg Program Consultants and Food Service Training

SmartPartners
P: Bill Scepansky, (717) 327-7878
E: smartpartnerinfo@gmail.com
http://www.smartpartner.biz/pages/school_programs.html

 

Farms-Direct Sales

Farmer Direct Marketing Resources

Regional Resources

USDA

[bizdir_directory width="90%"]